Merry Christmas

Oh, and I have one Marsh family yuletide tale. A couple of Saturdays ago, my family planned on going to see the Mary Poppins dioramas at “Macy’s.” My nephew is a 15 months old now, so it was going to be his first time. We were all going to rendezvous at my apartment in uptown and then drive downtown together. My brother was early, and he came over and we were sitting on the couch smoking and watching a little football while we waited for my parents and my sister to show.

My parents were supposed to be there by eleven, and it was inching closer to noon, when my brother finally spoke up.

“Hey, are we really going to Marry Poppins?” he asked.

“Yeah, why?”

“It’s not going to be an intervention or anything like that is it?”

I started laughing. “Are you that paranoid?”

“I’m serious. Remember when mom and dad told me they were taking me ‘go-karting’? I remember driving by the go karting place in Blaine and saying, ‘We’re not going go karting, I guess.’ I spent that Christmas in treatment.”

“Yeah, I remember. We played dominos during family visitation.”

2 Responses

  1. And he could never see a go-kart the same way again…

    I love the Marshes.

  2. Funny! I loved that story. And I never knew you had a Brazilian ex-girlfriend. We’ll have to chat more next time I’m stalking you (on film of course).

Leave a Reply

