Kaufman-esque

I went to the Guthrie last night to see Tom Stoppard’s “The Real Thing.” My third time there. First time seeing a play on the red red proscenium stage. Definitely more my vibe than the thrust stage–both look and material. The play was about modern love, in all its forms, and it was a play-within-a-play, Charlie Kaufman-style. In fact, after the play, we were at the 112 having dinner when somebody else at the bar asked me how the play was and I pulled the douchebag card and actually described it as “Kaufman-esque.” Seriously, if you think about it, Stoppard was the original Kaufman. The proto-Kaufman. “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead” is Kaufman-esque if anything is. Stoppard must be a major influence.

So most of the modern stuff will be in the red red theater. Now I’m excited about Alfred Uhry’s “Edgardo Mine” coming in November.

Ran into Guthrie PR rep Melodie Bahan before the show in the Target Lounge. She was disappointed that I didn’t love the building the first time I blogged about it. I didn’t tell her that it was because I ran into my ex-girlfriend and her new 100-year-old boyfriend at the gala. But whatever. That wouldn’t have been professional. Melodie was having a crazy day. She was freaked out by the Strib story about the Guthrie spiders. She said a bunch of wackos had already called urging her to “SAVE THE GUTHRIE SPIDERS.” There are no plans to exterminate the spiders, people. Settle down.

2 Responses

  1. This has nothing to do with your post…There were 22,000 paid @ the dome last night. This is a shit sports town. Go Tigers. That’s it.

  2. Sorry, but what is mariburjeka?

    Jane.

Leave a Reply

